David Sackman
1 min readMar 18, 2021

--

"Clapping" doesn't seem appropriate here. I'll try to offer something useful instead. I went to school at UCSC, and my first son was born there. I still have fond memories of the place, but reading your story I understand my wife’s reticence whenever I fantasize moving there (besides the high cost). Thank you for speaking out, and please do not give up.

Don't give up on your claims, although you may face obstacles. While it may be too late for a Gov. Code § 910 claim, it is not too late for a federal civil rights claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. You can also file a complaint against the officers, but beware - there is a perverse law still on the books which allows police to sue you back for daring to complain about them. (See my article below).

Someone should do something about the Catalyst. They can be sued for violating the Unruh Civil Rights Act, Civil Code § 51. This can be done by a complaint to the Department of Fair Employment and Housing. Since it is more than a year since the incident, they may tell you to go to court, though.

And then, there is always a picket, like we did in the old days . . .

--

--

David Sackman

Wherever I go, I am where I came from. Always a stranger in a strange land; yet always home. I claim no land, but take responsibility for all land.